PDA

View Full Version : Vet check questions

horsemom17
Nov. 16, 2010, 10:10 PM
It's been years since I have bought a horse. So, I have a few questions on vet checks and knew all the knowledgable COTH'rs could help me out! :winkgrin:

I am interested in a young WB mare (just turned 5). I have been riding her for about 2 months and we seem to be a good fit so far. She seems to trip or stumble at least once or twice everytime I ride her. I realize she is young. But reading on here (and other parts of the internet) has me concerned with EPM in the back of my mind. She does seem a little unbalanced when I pick up her feet to pick them. But not bad. I pick up her front legs and stretch her out after I tighten her girth and she seems to be fine with that.

However saying all this, the farrier is coming Friday, as she is due. So I could be totally be paranoid........

I guess my question is, it seems there is about 5 different tests for EPM and I wonder which is the most accurate? I am going to be doing x-rays and the whole nine yards. But I'd like to cover whatever I can. Any other tests or things I should add?
She is a great mover, jumps anything I have pointed her at so far and has a VERY good brain. Seems very calm for a 5 yr old.

Any advice or words of wisdom are greatly appreciated!

flyracing
Nov. 16, 2010, 10:40 PM
That doesn't sound like EPM at all. But, make sure the vet does a basic neuro exam as part of the ppe. If you want you can do a blood test to see if the horse has been exposed (a negative rules out all suspicion. What state is the horse in?). Other tests are available The owner probably wouldn't allow a spinal tap, but I guess you could ask. I would want a positive elisa for the s1 antibodies at 1:14 dilution or clinical neuro abnomality (tripping doesn't count) before agreeing to such a test if it were my horse and he had no symptoms of epm.