PDA

View Full Version : Hunter trainers.

Deepinmanure
Nov. 16, 2010, 10:58 AM
I am new to the hunter/jumper scene in Rochester. I have a coming 4 yr old WB gelding that I would like to sell as a hunter once he is trained. I am told by my trainer that he is an A hunter /jumper prospect. My current trainer is a wonderful dressage trainer in the area but she is not really interested in jumping.
Does anyone out there know of local hunter trainers that specialize in young hunters?? I am looking for quality,not quantity and someone who is patient and kind with their horses.
Not whip happy and aggressive.:eek:

findeight
Nov. 16, 2010, 12:56 PM
Give you a bump on this.

Also, how far are you willing to go? Syracuse? Buffalo? Any chance you are willing to haul to a AA barn and have a reputable and experienced AA Hunter trainer who also judges give you an honest, impartial evaluation before you commit to training?

I mean, that evaluation will cost but can save alot of time and money if, in fact, it's not going to set the Hunter world on fire. That is something you cannot know unless you get somebody to make an experienced and educated guess at the wisdom of pointing him to the Hunters.

Jaideux
Nov. 16, 2010, 01:56 PM
I'm not sure how their business is set up, but consider contacting Jaime and Becky Bates at Hasty Hills. I'm always pleased with the horses I've seen from them.

Deepinmanure
Nov. 16, 2010, 04:25 PM
Responding to Findeight-
He's already won in hunter confirmation classes in hand and ribbons in his first under saddle show. I have been told by top professionals that he is a really nice horse.(Toddd Karn for one)
My dilema is that I am out of the loop as far as hunter/jumper trainers go.Ask me who to bring a dressage horse to and I have all kinds of names!!!
Yes,I could take him to Buffalo which is only 45 minutes west of our farm.