PDA

View Full Version : DC Area Tack

peachiepony
Nov. 15, 2010, 12:03 AM
I'm new to the DC area. Any suggestions for places to shop for tack and equestrian gifts?

CiegoStar
Nov. 15, 2010, 12:21 AM
Are you closer to VA or MD?

Pickings are fairly slim but there are a few good shops.

peachiepony
Nov. 15, 2010, 02:37 AM
I'm in Bethesda

jennifersw
Nov. 15, 2010, 07:46 AM
The Surrey, originally in Potomac but now just a bit north of there...Barnesville/ Poolseville area. FANTASTIC gifts and some good tack; whatever they don't have in stock you can have them order.
Also if you are in Bethesda, you aren' t too far from Middleburg, VA (under an hour). The Tack Box is there (plus a slew of other gift boutiques with horsey things) and there is a Dover Saddlery not too far away, in Chantilly, VA.

Heineken
Nov. 15, 2010, 09:01 AM
Stablemates in Mt. Airy

winstonian
Nov. 15, 2010, 09:05 AM
There is also a Dover Saddlery in Crofton, MD that may be easier to get to than the one in Chantilly, depending on the time of day.

Meadowbrook Stables has a small tack shop called The Loft in Chevy Chase, MD, just inside the beltway.

Vandy
Nov. 15, 2010, 10:28 AM
WINSTONIAN!!! If you are back in the US, CALL ME!!!

REH
Nov. 15, 2010, 02:35 PM
My favorite places to shop:

Dover in Chantilly--inventory and service is great; many people come from DC and MD to shop there, not just VA folks.

The Tack Box in Middleburg, VA--carry lots of high end things that many others don't carry.

The place in Mt. Airy that Heineken mentioned--I've only been there once or twice, but they are nice and inventory is good.

I do not like the Surrey--I find their prices are well above average.

Reagan
Nov. 15, 2010, 02:59 PM