PDA

View Full Version : How to split payments with trainer - owning a horse together

TSHEventing
Nov. 14, 2010, 09:01 PM
Even if you haven't actually done this, I am interested in everyone's opinion.

Picture it (Golden Girls reference) Trainer and student go in to a horse (resale) together, 50/50. Horse was originally students who realized she didn't have time for him, so trainer agrees in lieu training board (and fees for riding at home and at shows only) trainer will ride/market/etc said horse in exchange for 50% of the horse and thus 50% of costs and 50% of profit.

Question is: As the student, what would you expect to pay for basic services? I.e, if trainer has to clip horse, would you expect to pay nothing (since it doesn't cost the trainer anything) or would you expect to pay 50% of what they normally charge? Would you expect to pay 50% of what is normally charged to ship? or would you expect everything at cost?

I appreciate your feedback, I have no experience with this.

Thanks!

Slow Motion
Nov. 14, 2010, 09:13 PM
In a situation like this if the trainer is riding, showing and marketing the horse to other clients/trainers I would expect to pay entry fees, shipping fees, farrier costs and any routine vet bills. If the trainer owns the barn where the horse is boarded I would not expect to pay for board, but if the horse is boarded out I would pay half of the board.

CBoylen
Nov. 14, 2010, 09:17 PM
1)Partnerships don't usually work.
2)It doesn't matter what anyone else thinks the agreement is, you and the trainer need an agreement. In writing. Written by an honest-to-goodness lawyer. Then, when the partnership goes south, the real lawyer you hire won't laugh when they read the contract.

Beyond those two points, reading your post you sound very optimistic as far as your costs go.
When I read this: