PDA

View Full Version : What Do You Look For At A Horse Sale?

PonyPeep
Nov. 6, 2010, 01:43 AM
BO and I are attending the Auburn Western Horse Sale tomorrow...got a few empty stalls. :winkgrin:
What do you guys look for at a horse sale? Health and weight obviously...age? Height? Confo? I've never done this before, so looking for some insight.

IronwoodFarm
Nov. 6, 2010, 07:05 AM
I'm not familiar with this sale, but I have bought horses at sporthorse auctions before. What I do is go through the sales catalog (also the supplement sheet when I get there) and mark all the horses that seem suitable for my intended need based on the description. Since I am interesting in buying riding horses, I want to see the horse go under saddle and I want to ride the horse myself. Most sales give you a limited form of vetting and I may do that. It depends. Just look at the sale as an arena where you get to see lots of horses fairly quickly and have to make the decision to buy or not quickly as well. But, I've been very happy with the horses I have gotten in auction and their price was a good value.

Given your region, I suspect you may find a good many nice horses for sold at low prices. That certainly was the case here at the Virginia Sporthorse Sale.

Thomas_1
Nov. 6, 2010, 07:08 AM
General condition.
Conformation.
Temperament and type.
Movement.
Performance record.
Manners and disposition.
Breeding.

This is definitely one of those questions which is really best and most responsibly answered with a "if you have to ask, then take someone with you who knows."

Bluey
Nov. 6, 2010, 07:27 AM
I would say, you can go to a sale to just look around, or with a goal of looking for a certain kind of horses.

We didn't have auctions in Europe, you got your horses from a dealer or a riding school and our riding school got some from the slaughter house.