PDA

View Full Version : Tell me your schooling schedule and routines for LL horses!

Megsabelle
Oct. 8, 2010, 11:31 AM
Hi all! I am a dressage newbie and have been working with my TB mare for about a year. We did all 4 training level tests this year and won each time with scores from 67% to 75%. Now, these we just schooling shows and I realize that if we are going to move up to first level, we have a lot to work on!

To that end, tell me what your schooling program is like for your lower level horses! I usually get one lesson per month, so much of my saddle time is on my own. I am particularly interested in exercises to encourage hind leg engagement and lateral suppleness. My mare is very, very light and soft in the bridle, so any exercises that encourage acceptance of some contact and "throughness" through the topline would be a appreciated as well!

Thanks in advance!

Pics from our show this weekend! :)

http://i54.tinypic.com/ifwzys.jpg

http://i51.tinypic.com/2d9zmgw.jpg

http://i53.tinypic.com/160zfo2.jpg

TropicalStorm
Oct. 8, 2010, 01:17 PM
Congratulations! I love the first picture-I hope you're framing it :)

I'll wait for someone with more experience to chime in for some real exercises, but my guy is showing 1st and schooling 2nd, and I work tons on transitions and am expecting them to be crisper and sharper. I also do transitions within the lateral work (so I'll trot and do some leg yield, ask for a transition to walk while he's still leg yielding and then pick up the trot while still leg yielding) With my guy, I find that low caveletti work helps get him more active as well, especially if its spaced a little further apart.

If you are by yourself, can you have someone videotape your ride? Watch it back and get an idea of what's really missing.

netg
Oct. 8, 2010, 02:11 PM
She's lovely!

I'm no UL rider, so I'll just tell you what's working with my TB.