PDA

View Full Version : Body Clipping?

ColoredHares
Oct. 6, 2010, 09:10 PM
I am fairly new to dressage (primarily H/J). I have the regional show coming up and my guy is fuzzy. What is the 'dressage world's' view on body clipping? I only ask this question because my guy is also a pinto, and I had a wild hair and did some pinto shows a couple of years ago. Body clipping is a big, big no, no. H/J body clip all of the time, but what do the dressage folks do? I certainly don't want to show with a big sign on me that says "Hunter rider in Dressage tack." thanks!

mickeydoodle
Oct. 6, 2010, 09:37 PM
body clipping is absolutely fine, I am going to clip my hairy guy this weekend, as the temps will be in the 70's intermittently for weeks, and he looks like a polar bear, and sweats like the proverbial pig

2tempe
Oct. 6, 2010, 10:12 PM
Clip away!
Actually one of the boarders where I keep my horse is heading to regionals up in Ga, and was debating the other day "to clip or not to clip" before she goes. Big issue for her is that he is such a funny color when first done...
My new mare is not yet fuzzy, so I'm waiting to decide what I will do.

Coppers mom
Oct. 7, 2010, 12:35 AM
body clipping is absolutely fine, I am going to clip my hairy guy this weekend, as the temps will be in the 70's intermittently for weeks, and he looks like a polar bear, and sweats like the proverbial pig

Bless his little heart :lol:

Clip away, and good luck!

mypaintwattie
Oct. 7, 2010, 02:44 AM
Body clip away, unless you want to do some Pinto shows again, then you'd best keep him under lights. With a good clip job you can hardly tell they have been clipped anyways.

jawa
Oct. 7, 2010, 07:25 AM
With a good clip job you can hardly tell they have been clipped anyways.

Clip 2 weeks prior to the main event!! This allows a bad clip job time to grow out!!:lol::lol:

Ask me how I know!!!

ACP
Oct. 7, 2010, 12:03 PM