PDA

View Full Version : Lead line class questions!

texaseventer
Oct. 4, 2010, 05:34 PM
Hi everyone, hope you can help point me in the right direction, and forgive me for my ignorance here but this is a new world for me!

My wonderful nearly 6 year old goddaughter has just started riding (with me!!) and she's a natural ;) I'd REALLY like to think about taking her in a lead line class in the early part of next year, but I have NO idea what to expect. This would just be at local schooling shows.

What is involved in the class. Flat? Trot poles? Small rails? Some combination of all 3? What are the judges usually looking for? How much "rein control" are they looking for vs. the leader taking the pony around on the lead line? Or is it just cute kids on cute ponies having fun (which I hope we'll be able to do no matter what!)

Thanks for your help - I am sorry I'm a complete newb about this so appreciate any and all advice or stories you might have!

MardiGrasTimeStable
Oct. 4, 2010, 05:44 PM
Around here leadline is Walk Only, and the Hack is walking over two ground rails (at a 2-point). More rein control on the rider's part the better with the leader being there to help keep the pony going where it needs to be ;-)
But mostly cute kids on cute ponies showing the foundations for safe riding . . . or so you would hope.

joiedevie99
Oct. 4, 2010, 05:45 PM
Depends- some of the local shows around here have two classes: walk leadline and walk/trot leadline.

In general, the child has to hold the reins, keep their feet in the stirrups, and smile. In walk/trot, the child should be able to post, and change their diagonal if the leader tells them they are wrong (or know their diagonals).