PDA

View Full Version : What to Do With the Young Jumper?

Czar
Oct. 4, 2010, 01:37 PM
I recently bought a 6 yr old Hanoverian/TB gelding as a hunter prospect. Issues I saw during the trial ride were ones I thought a. I could fix and b. were mostly due to lack of riding

Turns out, I was wrong :dead: Lesson learned but now I have a horse on my hands that definitely wants to be a jumper and I have limited experience in that arena. My trainer is my mother & she's very busy with her paying clients so my horses always get pushed to the back of the line.

The horse is a forward going, powerful horse. He can be dog quiet on the flat and over a few little jumps (hence the reason I thought he could be a hunter) but lights up over courses or as soon as the jumps go up.

This is my question: When the horse wants to build too much to the jump; do I let him in hopes that he will learn to back himself off or do I hold him for the distance I want. This horse also has a habit of throwing his body into the air when the jumps start to go up instead of rocking back. I've tried gymnastics and he's better but still tends to jump up too high with his body.

Back in my teenage years, I remember setting fences for a BNT jumper rider and he consistently rode the horse right to the base which I assumed was to teach the horse to rock back. I've tried that with this horse but he builds so much on the approach that he ends up with too much pace & jumps with his shoulder from the momentum. Or he puts 3 strides in front of the jump where he should be putting 4 - he's still at the base when he takes off but obviously with too much step.

If I hold him together more; he can't build as much but he still pulls me past where I want him to be on the take-off. Should I just hike up the fence & let him clobber it once or twice? Don't want to scare him (nothing much phases him though) but I also want him to figure it out a little on his own instead of relying on his rider to set it up for him.