PDA

View Full Version : How do I get sadl-tite off of my boots?

preciouspony
Oct. 3, 2010, 06:43 PM
I made the mistake of lending my spare boots to a friend to use at a few shows this year. I just got them back the other day and the inside is covered in a good couple of layers of that sadl-tite stuff. :mad: I've been scrubbing for a long time and I am hoping there is an easier way to get this gunk off without spending the rest of my evening scrubbing these boots and rubbing them raw. I am thinking she used the kind in the orange can and not the little deodorant like stick because I can't pick it off with my finger nails.

Does anyone have any suggestions to help me out of this sticky situation? (Bad pun, I know!)

Tuesday's Child
Oct. 3, 2010, 08:24 PM
I have no experience with sadl-tite, but what are you scrubbing with? Have you tried castille soap? If it's just on the inside of the boot you could maybe try a little rubbing alcohol or something, then condition really well after! Good luck!

Good2Go
Oct. 3, 2010, 08:45 PM
What about Goo-Gone? Maybe a little nail polish remover if the adhesive is built up a lot.

appdream
Oct. 3, 2010, 09:12 PM
Adhesives remove easily with oil, try neatsfoot or a cooking oil.

Kikki
Oct. 4, 2010, 12:59 AM
I've had good luck with hot water. That's what I use to get it off.

pictureonemore
Oct. 4, 2010, 01:43 AM
This is going to sound crazy, but make a solution of Lemon Ammonia and water. Make sure you really dilute it though. I usually use a couple cap fulls in a regular size water bucket. It really works, I swear!

myalter1
Oct. 4, 2010, 02:27 PM
I use the stuff in the orange can all the time (i am a chicken amateur and when i do the Eq, i like my leg to STICK) and i have never had the experience you are describing. No words of wisdom here...

pds
Oct. 4, 2010, 02:43 PM
I use the spray on stuff in the orange can as well. A little warm water and saddle soap works for me.

SimonandGus
Oct. 4, 2010, 02:54 PM