PDA

View Full Version : How far can you really get without your own horse? Advice for a Junior please.

Jumpthemoon16
Oct. 3, 2010, 05:56 PM
I'm looking for some advice on this - I'm a 15 year old junior and I've been riding hunter/jumpers and part-time eventing for almost ten years now. I've half-leased various horses of mediocre quality (but don't get me wrong, I love them all!) and shown to some success in 2'6" Hunters/Eq on the "A" circuit as well as up to Novice in Eventing.

I do not have the financial means to buy, keep, and work with a show horse that would allow me to accomplish my dreams of competing in the 3'6" eq. I am a strong, pretty talented (I have been told by judges that I should be competing at higher levels - one even admonished me for being "still" in the 2'6"!!) and very dedicated rider and I am absolutely willing to work for what I accomplish - I do not expect everything to be handed to me and I know it won't be! I babysit and earn money to pay for all of my shows (I usually pay $1000-$1200 per A show) and my parents help, but it's been made very clear to me that we cannot afford a full lease. I have been told by trainers that I "will not get anywhere" without my own horse, and naturally this is very depressing :P It also seems like a lot of top trainers will not take on working students so that they can make it 'work' financially.