PDA

View Full Version : Horse Shopping Question

aband12
Sep. 28, 2010, 04:45 PM
Hello everyone! I just joined and I have a question regarding trying new horses. In the very near future, I will begin looking for my next horse (3'6" hunter). I have been riding and competing for many years and have owned my fair share of horses. Therefore, I have a very clear picture of exactly what I am looking for. So much so, that I can usually tell just by looking at a horse whether or not I am seriously interested. So, my question is-when trying new horses, is it rude to tell the sellers that I am not interested in the horse just by looking at him/her? In my opinion, I feel that I am being polite by not wanting to waste someone else's time by riding his/her horse. However, sometimes I think that people become offended by this and say, "well, you haven't even ridden the horse, how can you know?" Side note-I am younger (recent college graduate) and sometimes people think that I may not be experienced enough to have such a clear and distinct idea of what I want. Please give any comments/ideas in relation to this subject....thanks!

KateKat
Sep. 28, 2010, 05:05 PM
I dunno...I think there are a lot of horses out there and if you aren't working with a super restrictive budget, you should be able to pretty much get what you want. But...I would ask for plenty of pictures and not go back and forth with a potential seller or set up an appointment to just tell them sorry! and then turn on your heel and leave. Tell them upfront what you are specifically looking for and then don't waste any more of their time if it doesn't fit your criteria.

That being said, I'm shopping right now and am not picky at all in terms of appearance. I just want a safe, sane partner to have fun with and I think that being open minded is a must for me, especially since my budget is not big.

gottagrey
Sep. 28, 2010, 05:06 PM