PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Need to restore my confidence in my horse

HappyHorselover
Sep. 25, 2010, 04:30 PM
Okay, let me give the backstory: I have been riding for about 15-20 years off and on, bought my first boy, whom I still have, 8 years ago. I am a decent AA on the flat, but didn't have a ton of jumping experience, the most came from the year I leased (3 rides/week) a point and shoot hunter, who really taught me a lot.

I bought a semi-green 8 year old OTTB (Trav) from a professional back in early February '10. She had him for a year and a half and put some lovely work into him, he looked gorgeous when she rode (hence, professional). He had been to some shows and even got Champion at his first one in beginner horse. He has a great brain and lots of atheletic potential - I adore this horse and did from the start.

Everything was great for about 4 months, I rode very regularly (5-6 days/week) and he was doing great. Then he started to do things like throw a little buck when you put on outside leg and he stopped listening to me as well on the ground (he wouldn't load in the trailer, something we had NEVER had issues with before). I had his saddle fitted (County) and a chiro out, teeth done, the works. Basically my trainer said he is smart and he figured out that I'm not as good a rider as his previous professional owner and he started to test me. Looking back, I let him get away with little crap that I'm sure added up to him thinking he was boss.