PDA

View Full Version : Moving back to the states after a very long break

Lucinda
Sep. 25, 2010, 02:44 AM
I am currently moving back to the states after a very long break down here in Australia. I have a few questions though;

First of all, I have been riding for 20 years now and I first learnt how to ride in America where I competed on the ponies at a high level. Since moving back to Australia I went onto show jumping, mainly because we don't have a hunter division down here, just hacking (yuck). I would love to get back into the hunters again as an adult, but I'm not sure what I'm eligable for. I'm turning 29 in October, and I would be competing as an amateur. (Although, any clarification on this would be appreciated, I assume its the same rules as here in Aust, but they bear repeating, and I could be wrong)

Secondly, having said all that, I would also like to continue competing in the Jumper's, and my question here is, can I do both? And could someone please break down the Jumping divisions for me, I have done a lot of reading about this, but its a different system than I am used to, so it gets a bit confusing

Thirdly, can anyone recommend any really good trainers in the MD/VA area who can undo all the bad habits I picked up on the Australian scene and who would be willing to hold my hand until I get used to how things are done over there again?

As an aside, Im not a complete moron when it comes to all this, but like I said, the way the Aussies do things is completely different from the way you do them. :D

Thanks in advance! (And no harm in asking right?)

flyracing
Sep. 25, 2010, 03:53 AM