PDA

View Full Version : If you only had three days a week to ride

Grace67
Sep. 19, 2010, 09:02 PM
and two of those were weekend days which other day would you ride? My work schedule is becoming more hectic and I can only include one weekday morning schooling session in addition to the weekend. Better to ride three days in a row and four off or ride a single ride during the middle of the week in addition to the weekends? My horse is on about an acre turnout 24/7 so not cooped up in a stall and our rides last 45 minutes to an hour of very low level dressage and occasionally hacking out across the pasture and vineyards.

mickeydoodle
Sep. 19, 2010, 10:53 PM
I am a physician and feel your pain about limited riding time. i personally, and my horse, find it better to ride three days in a row, as in fri, sat, sun or sat, sun,mon.

Petstorejunkie
Sep. 19, 2010, 11:34 PM
I agree with mickeydoodle

paintlady
Sep. 20, 2010, 06:11 AM
I also work full-time and can't make it out to the barn more than 3x per week. I typically ride Sunday, Wednesday and Saturday.

jawa
Sep. 20, 2010, 09:44 AM
I think it would depend on your horse. I think some do better with Wed Sat Sun schedule. But you may find Wed a total loss due to being a loon or lack of flexibility with no work for days in a row. On the other hand you may find your horse not enjoying the three day in a row, weekend warrior routine. If possible try a few weeks both ways.

Also, when setting up your schedule think about holidays if you get them off with work. Most state and federal holidays are on a Monday, if you get that day off and you ride Fri, you could end up with a bonus 4 day riding week once or twice a month.

SunsAfire
Sep. 20, 2010, 11:27 AM
I also agree that it depends on your ride together. And both of your personalities! I work 6 days a week, and crazy hours, and I try to go days throughout the week versus three consecutive days. But I can see how three consecutive days could be more constructive!

mbp