PDA

View Full Version : Any advice-buying land!

JackSprats Mom
Aug. 2, 2010, 08:38 PM
Ok so I'm in the process of buying a small farm with the idea of building an arena and boarding 12-14 horses.

Here's the thing, I'm new to all this and is VERY scary.

I am going down to planning and permitting this week to talk to them about the land (it has a house on it) but how do I know whether I can build on it till I buy it if there are no obvious restrictions (my biggest worry is unmarked 'wetland' or 'NGPA').

Also what else should I be thinking about and looking in to (I know this is a huge question).

I have looked at building to erect and gotten prices of those and permits.

Any advice/thought?

thanks

SMF11
Aug. 2, 2010, 08:47 PM
You don't have to own it to figure out what can be done there. You can go to the soil conservation service and get maps and probably great advice about it (wetlands etc). You can make your purchase contingent on getting all necessary approvals before the closing, this is common with developers.

You didn't ask about this, but I have to say (I have a private farm w/5 boarders) that while my boarding generates cash flow, it does not pay back the capital costs I've put into the facility. I would not buy property with a view to building a boarding business (I'd see if buying an existing barn/pastures/arena made sense instead).

Foxtrot's
Aug. 2, 2010, 09:50 PM
Ah country living - nothing quite like it! IF you have enough water from wells that don't go dry in the summer, if you can get perk for the septic field, and permits for all the buildings you want to put up. Or if there is a creek that floods.

Take a look around the neighbourhood and see if there are any mushroom, hog or chicken farms nearby for smell and flies.

JackSprats Mom
Aug. 2, 2010, 09:52 PM