PDA

View Full Version : How did you do your washrack drain? HELP!

mpsbarnmanager
Jul. 20, 2010, 04:20 PM
Hi,

I am building a new barn and my younger brother is doing the plumbing. He is a plumber by trade. I expressed to him how important it is that the washrack drains (I will have 2) do not clog, EVER. He thinks that having a 4'' pipe going down into a 12'' square plastic catch basin, then out into a "huge" drywell filled with small cinder block peices rather than paying for rock will do the job just great. I'm a little septical.

The other runoff option is that we have a ditch near one end of the barn, but to trench it out to the ditch on a slope (as it needs to be, obvi), the pipe will come out just under the ditch. So we could dig the dich out a bit, I think that is the better option, but he IS the plumber here. The ditch is about 60 feet from the back wall of the wash stall.

One WR is across the isle fron the other, so the pipe for that drain would be under the concrete isle and pick up the other WR drain, and go wherever it will end up being piped to.

Any thoughts, ideas or suggestions?? Plesae help me decide!!

Thanks!!:)

Pennywell Bay
Jul. 20, 2010, 04:30 PM
Actually, your township should tell you what needs to be done. There are usually zoning issues to deal with that.
Depending on your specs of course.

skyy
Jul. 20, 2010, 07:00 PM
Sadly, I have no useful information for you but I had to chuckle when I read that you were "septical"! Was that a little bit of plumbing humor?

A question though. By 12" catch basin, do you mean something that you can physically clean out? We manage a to hose off a staggering amount of mud from our horses and if we had a real wash stall with a real drain I think we'd be in for a huge problem when all the mud settled.

ASB Stars
Jul. 20, 2010, 07:25 PM
The essential issue is having enough fall, from the wash stall, to the drain area. You need to be sure that the water, etc. will keep enough velocity to drain completely.