PDA

View Full Version : Efficient layout and gate placement

apachepony
Jul. 15, 2010, 03:18 AM
It's time to pin down exactly where the fence is going to go, and since this is my first time, I want some seasoned eyes.

Here's the property and the current plan:
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa151/mooniehorse/farm.jpg?t=1279176611

The two pastures add up to about 4 acres. We definitely want to put in a sacrifice area, and the part colored is the worst, weediest part of the pasture. It seemed like the best part to sacrifice. There is already a 12x36 concrete pad where the run in will be. It will hopefully have swinging dividers and gates so it can be made into 3 stalls, but will typically stay open. It will have a 12x36 overhang on the front.

There is a natural swale that runs in front of the fenceline between the house and pastures. The property slopes slightly toward the woods and there is a creek/swampy area inside the treeline.

The fence to the left and bottom will be no climb and electric. The rest will be 3-4 strands of electric.

The two red markings to the left of the run in will be large (~14 ft?) gates into the pastures strictly for equipment. We were thinking about having these be tape/spring gates to save money. The two yellow marks and one red in the sacrifice area (color coordination: fail) will be horse/people gates.

My few questions:
Does this seem like a reasonably efficient layout and placement?

Is there any way to make a metal gate fold back flat along the fenceline? I've seen the stupids get 'trapped' in the 90 degree angle from the gate rather than walking through the opening.

What is a good size for horse/people gates?

horsecents
Jul. 15, 2010, 06:22 AM