PDA

View Full Version : Jeckyll and Hyde?

cnvh
Jun. 29, 2010, 11:50 AM
Let me preface this post by saying that I don't ride with a trainer, I am not inexperienced (this year marks 30 years since I started riding), but I AM new to eventing. I stick to weenie levels at unrecognized events; so far I've done Intro (18") twice and Starter (2') once. I am really a "just for fun" kind of rider, and I have absolutely no aspirations beyond BN at unrecognized events.

Horsie is a 7 y.o. OTTB that I have had for about 2 years now. I board at a small barn where I usually end up riding alone (I ride 3-4x/week). We spend about 30% of the time inside an arena; the rest is field work and trails. Horsie is out in pasture 24/7, only comes inside for meals. He is 99% quiet at home; I joke that he’s the World’s Slowest Thoroughbred, because he’s usually quiet to the point of being lazy. The only times he has issues is when we’re in a HUGE open field, and/or when he can see other horses running (in pasture or under saddle). The “issue” usually consists of a snort-&-scoot for about 10 feet, sometimes a little crow-hopping, nothing unmanageable. And he has gotten much better with this over the past year.

When we’re away from the barn, it’s a different story, which is understandable since I don’t have a trailer so we don’t get off-property as much as I’d like. Again though, he’s getting better… we did a ST at the beginning of May, and he was such a firecracker for our dressage test that the judge suggested I get a different horse. :( We did another ST this weekend, and he was MUCH calmer for dressage, probably a 75% improvement over the last time. Same goes for stadium—he’s a little wound up, but nothing bad and there has been improvement in subsequent events.