PDA

View Full Version : How to actually identify a cottonmouth/water moccasin

dalpal
Jun. 24, 2010, 07:55 PM
I think many times, people mistake harmless water snakes for these snakes.....these are some pretty mean looking snakes.

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/flgard/msg061356396925.html

SLW
Jun. 25, 2010, 12:21 AM
Wow, great link, thanks!!

In our area there are some non-poisonous snakes which have markings that mimic "bad snakes". I focus on the shape of the snakes head- if the head is in the shape of a human thumb then it's a "good snake". Also, good snakes tend to have round eyes. If the head shape is tri-angular (and the eyes more like slits) then I go running into the house to find Mr. SLW so he can kill it. :) I can run very fast....

Whitfield Farm Hanoverians
Jun. 27, 2010, 05:06 PM
I didn't really want to even look but had to. I had to kill a 3' long mocc at a patient's home last week. I'm a home health nurse & when I was leaving thank goodness her grandaughter had come home & alerted me that snake was coiled beside the steps I was coming down. Tried to kill it with a shovel but made it mad & it came up the steps after me. Finally got it to go down side of house but couldn't shoot it as it was lying beside the propane tank.Since I didn't want to kill us all I had to chase the thing with a mop & a shovel to make it move & finally shot it. I'm still heeby-jeebying!!! Something weird with the snakes this year. This one was on the cool concrete & also my sister had the same thing happen to her 2 weeks ago. Mocc was inside her closed carport coiled around the lower rung of her steps. She was walking her 2 yr old grandson down the steps instead of him going by himself. THANK GOD! She saw snake & called for hubby to kill it. She has a nice clean lawn but has ponds around her house. I'm sure they're looking to escape this heat. Personally I'm ready to move to the swiss alps this time of year. Oh & on top of that, I'm pretty sure I heard a gator bellow