PDA

View Full Version : RIP Timothy Lee

Tazzie
Jun. 24, 2010, 12:08 PM
It's taken me some time to post this. This post is very long. Writing this is therapeutic for me, and I certainly don't expect anybody to read it through. :)

Timothy Lee was born September 4, 1994. At that time I was a freshman at college, and living in my own little efficiency apartment in town. I grew up with Shih Tzu’s, but never had a dog on my own, and had decided it was time.

I found an ad for “Levi”, a 3 month old Shih Tzu, in the local paper. After calling the number on the ad, a beat-up pickup truck met me at the Sheetz down the street from my apartment. In it was an older couple, and they had to scoop “Levi” up from under one of the seats.

I realized immediately that this was a mutt, not a Shih Tzu! But his crazy hair and his brown eyes won me over in an instant. They were asking $200, which was a fortune to a broke college student. I asked them to wait there as I ran to the bank and took out the cash, ran back and purchased my boy. I guessed that he was probably a Shi Tzu/Terrier mix and I renamed him Timothy right away. His name turned into Timothy Lee pretty quick. Eventually I also nicknamed him my “Lovebug”, which turned into “bug”, and in the last few years “buggy”.

As a college student, I often worked with animals. I was a pet-sitter, barn worker, and worked in a pet store, sometimes all in the same week. My college was an equine college. I often took Timothy with me to college and jobs. If I left him home he had separation anxiety. Timothy was a escape artist. It didn’t matter what kind of contraption I tried to lock him up him, he would manage to escape every time.