PDA

View Full Version : Studying for the HB rating- Update!

KBG Eventer
Jun. 23, 2010, 11:37 AM
I figured since last year I got such great advice on the C2 that I should ask about the HB now. I'm taking it August 6th and to be honest, I just started studying for it in earnest. :uhoh: I have the Pony Club cards, but I'm trying to decide what would be the best way to study them. Usually if I make flash cards for school I have the question or word on one side and the answer on the back. I could write on the back of these, but some of them pose several questions on one card. Should I just make duplicates of the whole stack? Use PowerPoint? Quizlet.com? :lol:

This rating is definitely stressing me out!

DefyingGravityEventing
Jun. 23, 2010, 02:32 PM
Hey. Good for you for taking the HB. And no worries, i literally studied for my HA maybe a week or two ahead of time and passed most of it (i just had to retake two sections, that i passed later!).

What I found the most helpful was reading articles on thehorse.com or utilizing the resources used by i think it is middle california region. They have their you-know-what together. Everything is organized by different sections - study notes, articles, etc. I found this was most helpful when trying to keep things straight. Like if you had a specific situation for influenza or strangles, it stuck better. I can't remember the exact web address, but if you search their website - it is sure to be there.

Also what i found helpful was a "study guide" some of the examiners had written and presented at a USPC convention. I found that via google.

http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=USPC,+HB+study+guide

Ha! I found most of it. Just search the internet a little, buy a bunch of snacks and caffeine and there you go!