PDA

View Full Version : CAIR vs. Flocking?

tres grey
Jun. 20, 2010, 06:33 PM
I'm looking at getting the Wintec Pro Dressage saddle for its price, low maintenance, and ability to fit multiple horses. I was wondering y'alls opinions on the CAIR panels vs. traditional flocking? Can you tell a difference? Is it worth the extra $54?

maudie
Jun. 20, 2010, 07:02 PM
If you do a search on CAIR, you should find a bunch of informative threads :)

nomeolvides
Jun. 20, 2010, 07:06 PM
I've no experience of CAIR myself but, from what I've read on other forums, I'd personally go for flocking.

spacehorse
Jun. 20, 2010, 08:36 PM
Some horses will have no parts of having a saddle on their back with the CAIR panels.

My sisters horse objected severely, got the saddle reflocked, problem solved.

After that experience, I would personally also go with something flocked.

Bogie
Jun. 20, 2010, 09:51 PM
On the other hand, I have saddles with both CAIR panels and wool flocked panels. My horse is fine in either. I have both a County Extreme and a Wintec Pro jump.

A friend of mine just bought a Bates with CAIR and her horse has never been happier.

So, the answer is a definitive, it depends on what your horse likes!

kkindley
Jun. 20, 2010, 09:54 PM
I have the Wintec 500 dressage. So far a nice saddle for me and the horse. I have the CAIR panels. She seems to go just fine in them. No noticeable difference between it and my regular leather jump saddle. So I can't compare her in 2 wintecs, flocked and unflocked. Just feeling them, I don't FEEL a huge difference. I don't see any reason a horse wouldn't like it for the panels, but apparantely some do. My advice is to see if you can borrow one to ride in.

Right on Target
Jun. 20, 2010, 10:45 PM
I had a Bates with the CAIR and my horse hated it. Definitely try it out first! My saddle's CAIR panels were hard as rocks.

I borrowed an older Bates saddle with CAIR panels that felt partially deflated and he loved that one.

sarah88