PDA

View Full Version : Jumper rider that wants to cross over

Pologirl4720
Jun. 17, 2010, 01:27 PM
Hi, I am a young amateur adult rider and have been in the hunter/jumper (more jumper) world for my whole riding career. I have always wanted to try eventing. When I was young I took my grey welsh to school xcountry a few times at apple knoll in mass and fell in love with it. Unfortunately I live in Portsmouth, RI and there isn't much of a demand for eventing activities and barns around here.

My question for you guys is do you think it will be worth it for me to attempt to pursue eventing?

Also, are there any eventing barns/instructors in SE Mass, RI, or NE CT that would be worth traveling to and lessoning at?

Viva
Jun. 17, 2010, 02:25 PM
Let me be the first to say "Welcome to the dark side!":cool:

Definitely worth it, no question, it's the most fun you can have with a horse, if you ask anyone on this board!

Check out Flatlands Equestrian Center in Rehoboth, MA www.flatlands-equestrian.com. Tom Davis is a wonderful instructor, very positive and very correct. He has lots of experience with adult ammys and crossover riders--you'll have a great time and become a very competent, confident event rider. Have fun!

GotSpots
Jun. 17, 2010, 02:29 PM
Of course it's worth it! More fun than you can ever imagine!! The US Eventing Association has a great new website www.discovereventing.com that has lots of information as well if you're interested.

Not positive of coaches in that area, but maybe someone like RiverBendPol or Pixietrix can offer some advice. (I may be lumping far to much of NE into one collective pot, though, but think of both of them as general experts on Area I). You might also look at the USEA website (www.useventing.com) and look under ICP to see if there are any ICP instructors near you.

Hope you have a blast and welcome to the sport!

jn4jenny
Jun. 17, 2010, 02:43 PM
Welcome! You're going to love eventing.