PDA

View Full Version : Horrible "Vet-check-horse"

endurancegirl_15
Jun. 5, 2010, 12:11 AM
Well, I am a newbie in Distance Riding. I have done three so far. And I absolutely LOVE it. I have been studying my stuff and conditioning my horse for a longg time.

*But* my problem is at the vet checks. My horse Rebel is an absolute nut-job. I got so frustrated at the last ride I began crying. I kept my cool for a long while, and pushed through it, but it got bad. He shoved into me, shoved into the VET, didn't pay attention, didn't respect anyone, and many more problems.

The thing is, he behaves marvelously at home and usually everywhere else. He has great ground manners at home, and focuses entirely on me. But when we were at the vet checks, it was a different story.

Rebel did AWESOME on the actual ride itself, he did better than I expected him. And for that i was very proud of him.

He has an seperation anxiety issue, but once I get into the ride, he is fine and forgets about his buddies.
While I was at the vet checks, both of his horse buddies were like 20ft away. That didn't work, so we tried taking them away. And many other things. Nothing worked and he behaved the same (terribly) each time.

Rebel was also scored down because of his attitude and his P/R because he was so nervous and obnoxious.

So now you know my situation and problem. I really need some help. I felt terrible for the vet and the volunteers who had to deal with Rebel. I kept apologizing for his behavior, and tried my best to keep him under control.
Does any of you have any advice? I really need it, and would appreciate it alot!
Thanks! =)

mzm farm
Jun. 5, 2010, 12:30 AM
He is probably excited by the day's events. Try asking the vet to do "mock" vet checks after you complete your rides - use it to give him as many healthy treats as you can - watermellon should work well (water + sugar - who can say no?)