PDA

View Full Version : Cooling Vest/Hat - Effective in the Show Ring?

Fun Size
May. 29, 2010, 08:23 PM
So, I have heard a few people talking about the following products:

Cooling Vest (https://www.coolmedics.com/products.php?product=Plaid-V-Neck-Cooling-Vest-P1133#)

Cooling Hat (https://www.coolmedics.com/products.php?product=Adult-Cooling-Cap-%252d-1310)

The vest is supposed to fit under your show coat, and the hat under your helmet.

I have ZERO heat tolerance. I got a really bad virus about 2 years ago, and it totally fried my internal thermostat. I'm really worried about showing this summer...I have never done it before and I just don't really want to pass out in the heat (southern California, so think 100 degree days!).

Have any of you used these or tried them, and, if so, how did they work?

JA
May. 29, 2010, 08:38 PM
Never tried those but I would highly recommend a coolmax riding shirt and then a helmet like the GPA Speedair or another helmet with lots of vents! They really help with overheating

norcalammie
May. 29, 2010, 08:42 PM
Heat does me in too. I have the cooling vest and ride in it in the hot weather. Alows me to ride longer and not turn beet red. Not sure about under a show jacket though. When I was showing I would warm up without my coat and then slip it on right before going in the ring and take it off as soon as I finished my course. Think the vest would add bulk. At least the newer coats are lighter weight than when I was showing years ago.

Often in the summer I rinse my helmet out before putting it on my head - yes I have a vented helmet (IRH). Just got a new Antares (won it in a drawing) but don't think I could do that with the Antares as not the padding of the IRH.

Fun Size
May. 29, 2010, 08:48 PM
Never tried those but I would highly recommend a coolmax riding shirt and then a helmet like the GPA Speedair or another helmet with lots of vents! They really help with overheating