PDA

View Full Version : From Jumpers to Hunters

Artemis
May. 24, 2010, 03:58 PM
So a short background. I started riding at an Eventing barn, and mostly did jumpers. I've switched barns a few times, but still was mostly schooling for Jumpers. I went to a few shows, and by a few I mean like 2 to 3 over a 10 year span. Ive previously owned 2 horses, both very green. I only got the chance to train them up some, and I unfortunately had to sell them.

About 3 weeks ago, my trainer offered me a horse. He was a lesson horse for her, but he started misbehaving and was extremely strong over fences. He also had an old injury, but was sound to jump up to 3'. Even though he is only 12, he's a retired regular working hunter that apparently showed across the country. I thought about it, and figured hey why not. Hes a hunter, but he can teach me alot. I need something thats my own, and that I can ride everyday.

Well, I've been a jumper girl all my life, and I've probably ridden a hunter course like once.
I'm currently a working student, and this horse has taken the adventure with me so I do have a trainer, but I'd like other input.

Any tips from jumper riders turned hunter?
I want to eventually show him. What classes are available to adult riders to jump up to 3'?

make x it x so
May. 24, 2010, 08:26 PM
Adult Amateur Hunters jump 3', but if you're a working student (and therefore usually a Pro), you'll probably be stuck doing Special Hunters or whatever 3' and under unrated divisions are offered in your area.

Biggest tip for jumper->hunter transition: chill! hunter courses are all about smooth, flowing consistency- you always use all of your space and take your time around the course, rather than looking for speedier inside turns and angling jumps/turning in the air.

Artemis
May. 25, 2010, 09:06 AM
Wait, I'm alittle confused. So because I'm a working student I'm considered a Pro?

Artemis
May. 25, 2010, 10:45 PM
Bump?

klmck63
May. 25, 2010, 10:53 PM