PDA

View Full Version : Commercial Driver's License in PA

labalooo
May. 20, 2010, 01:46 PM
Hello Everyone! I'm new to the sport and new to this forum. Quick question - Do I need a commercial driver's license in the state of PA to operate my own truck and trailer to haul my daughter's pony to a horse show?

Thanks for your help.

bornfreenowexpensive
May. 20, 2010, 01:55 PM
Hello Everyone! I'm new to the sport and new to this forum. Quick question - Do I need a commercial driver's license in the state of PA to operate my own truck and trailer to haul my daughter's pony to a horse show?

Thanks for your help.

Depends on how big your truck and trailer are. You only need a CDL over a certain weight. I have a 3/4 ton truck and 3 horse GN trailer...and do not need a CDL. Most people I know do not have a CDL.

Where they will NAIL you in PA is on your registration. Make sure your register your truck for the maximum weight you can haul with it. My registration on my truck just cost me close to $400 whereas my car was $40. I know more than one person who have gotten tickets on this.

SonnysMom
May. 20, 2010, 01:58 PM
I live in PA and haul with a truck and trailer without a CDL.
However it is my understanding that the PA police are starting to crack down on those individuals that haul other peoples horses for money including gas money.
I have heard that they are also trying to say that going to a show makes you business since you might win something at the show- ribbons.

I have no intention of getting my CDL for my 2 horse trailer.

None of my friends that haul horses in 2/3/4 horse trailers in PA have their CDL.
Just make sure you have your fire extingisher and flares/safety triangles and Coggins in the trailer/truck when you haul.

bornfreenowexpensive
May. 20, 2010, 02:03 PM
I live in PA and haul with a truck and trailer without a CDL.