PDA

View Full Version : How-to: Find a rider?

Wallabbey
May. 18, 2010, 01:46 PM
Hello, from a long-time lurker, first-time poster.

I am a young amateur with a pony who started this show season with the girl who rode her for me last year. I enjoy working with this girl and her trainer, but she's beginning to look somewhat tall on this pony and I'm pondering trying to find a different rider. Unfortunately, I have no clue how to do this. The girl last year kind of fell into my lap, so to speak. Her trainer does not have any other appropriately sized children, and neither does the trainer I work with.

So how exactly does catch-riding work? I have always paid class entries, plus stall/office/drug/etc fees -- mostly the kid has kept the ribbons, but I keep monetary/year-end prizes. But what about trainer day fees? If I ask a kid to ride, do I need to pay their trainer's day fees? Do you generally approach the kid or the trainer? Any help, tips, advice, etc would be appreciated. Thanks (and sorry its longish).

findeight
May. 18, 2010, 01:58 PM
If you ask the catch rider to ride the Pony, you pay all charges and you get the ribbons...however I don't know any adult using a catch rider for a Pony who does not let the kid keep the ribbons, if they want them.

Any money won gets taken off the bill in the show office so that's no concern.

You are certainly allowed to negotiate a different set up with an individual rider (and their parents) where they would pay the trainer charges or even everything.

But the standard for a regular, accomplished, Pony catch rider is you pay all. And it would be nice to slip the kid a little something, especially if they were good.

Be sure to talk first so you don't get blindsided.

This is probably a good time to refresh my earlier and oft said remarks about what should be your most used phrase in dealing with trainers of your Pony and/or the catch rider and any other Pros..."WHAT IS THIS GOING TO COST ME"?

Memorize it and use it often.