PDA

View Full Version : Hard to Fit Horse - Saddle question

LaraNSpeedy
May. 15, 2010, 07:21 PM
What jumping saddles and criteria fit a horse with high withers? I have tried every saddle in the barn and only one saddle has wither clearance at 1 inch or more and its barely more than 1 inch. And its my brand new saddle for my horse - this is not for my horse.

This is a student's horse and she is 14 and cannot afford to go custom. So as we search for a new saddle - what makers and models and criteria fit for a horse with high withers?

THANKS!

Riley0522
May. 15, 2010, 07:23 PM
I have a Collegiate Diploma for my high-withered horse that I bought on a budget. I think I got it new for $800 or so. It's not a bad saddle, gets the job done.

sptraining
May. 15, 2010, 08:27 PM
I had a very high withered warmblood. I used a Bates saddle with a Beval cut out pad. The cut out pads are great for high withered horses - you just have to make sure there's enough room in the shoulders for the saddle to fit.

lesson junkie
May. 15, 2010, 08:32 PM
Once you determine the correct tree size, look for a saddle with wool flocking. That way a saddle fitter can configure the panels to allow for the horse's withers/shoulder conformation. It shouldn't require a custom if your rider is a standard model herself!

Silk
May. 15, 2010, 08:50 PM
Bates close contact (or a Wintec close contact if really on a budget - pretty much the same saddle). They have the changeable gullet system. i tried a number of saddles on a project pony and found the Wintec to be the best fit of all I tried. Actually, the Bates fit the same, but since I could get the same fit for under 500 with the Wintec, I chose that one. I ride in a Beval but it is a wide saddle.

The narrow gullet on this saddle fits the high withered, narrow shoulder poony really well.

JB
May. 15, 2010, 09:13 PM