PDA

View Full Version : What's a good, versatile/'adaptable' saddle?

rumblepony
May. 11, 2010, 06:49 PM
I'm currently searching for a well made saddle that can, in essence fit a variety of horses, to a certain degree at least. I am a college student, and I ride many different horses over the course of a semester, and generally exercise several different ones at my barn/for friends over the summer. Most of the time (though not all of the time) there is a saddle available to use, though not one that necessarily fits me (especially true with the ponies I ride) and I would like to just get one of my own for comfort/convenience.

I had a TC before I left for school, and, with the use of pads, it was a great for many of the horses I rode, but I'm on my own now financially, and most of the used TC saddles out there aren't exactly in my price range, so with that in mind...What saddles are out there that are known to fit a wide range of horses?

jn4jenny
May. 11, 2010, 07:08 PM
There's no saddle that will suit all horses, but for a horseless rider like yourself, something with a moderately curvy tree and an adjustable gullet is ideal. And fortunately, the market has caught up with that in the last 2-3 years. The Collegiate Convertible Diploma, Collegiate Convertible Alumni, and the Ovation Competition Showjumper with XCH changeable gullet system can all be had for less than $1000 retail. The Bates Caprilli CC can be had for $800-$1100 on the used market (retails at $1800). IMO the Pessoa GenX with XCH changeable gullet system is overpriced at approx. $1300 retail, but that's another option.

Barring that, the "old fashioned way" to outfit a horseless rider before the adjustable gullet came along was to find something in a medium-wide or wide tree and pad it up appropriately. Nothing wrong with that school of thought either.