PDA

View Full Version : Trainers, Attire, Jumpers

indygirl2560
May. 9, 2010, 12:38 PM
I went to a show yesterday to take pictures and cheer on my barn mates and I asked my friend why everyone from our barn was showing in full hunter/eq attire(tan breeches, white shirt, and hunt coat) for the jumpers. She told me that our trainer(I'm new to the barn so I don't know the trainer very well other than to not cross her!) requires everyone to show like that for jumpers. My friend said if I showed up in a neat polo or even just my ratcatcher, the trainer would kill me! :eek: At my old barn, I could show jumpers in whatever I wanted as long as it looked neat and professional(ie nice polo, or nice show shirt), so this was kind of surprising to me.

Does anyone else have a trainer that requires "formal attire" for jumpers?

gumshoe
May. 9, 2010, 12:55 PM
Yes, for everyone. Hunters and jumpers must be braided to an acceptable standard, jumper riders must wear proper show attire. No half pads on hunters or crazy colored shirts. Conservative and traditional all the way. Everyone is also encouraged to wear their jacket even if jackets are excused. Leave it off til you go in the ring, take it off when you come out.

SmileItLooksGoodOnYou
May. 9, 2010, 01:20 PM
Absolutely not! Then again when it 110* in the shade and humid it's heat stroke waiting to happen.

When we show indoors or it's not so hot I wear a jacket. When it's hot I just wear my show shirt (coolmax beats any kind of polo even with long sleeves).

My trainer just requires us to be neat, not conservative. She doesn't care if we ride hot pink pads with a matching polo and ear bonnet. She would make fun of us though!