PDA

View Full Version : Riding again after a hiatus

Lone
Apr. 29, 2010, 12:23 AM
I've never taken a very long break from riding, the longest has been 3 1/2 months for an ankle injury/surgery. The comeback time from that was fairly quick and it didn't take long before I was riding at the level I had been pre-injury.

This time around, I'm sound and my horse isn't. I haven't ridden in 6 months. More than likely, my mare isn't going to get better and I'm going to be horseless for a while. I'll be starting grad school this fall, and I'm guessing I won't have the extra money for a new horse purchase in the near future!

For the sake of discussion, lets assume I'm out of the saddle for a total of 3 years and I was a novice level rider before the hiatus. About how long would it take to be back to my current skill level if I was riding multiple times a week and taking regular lessons?

Would it make a significant different in my comeback time if I was taking infrequent (maybe 1-2 a month) lessons during my off time? For the mental health aspect, I feel like it'll be easier to go 'cold turkey' but if it would make a big difference in how fast I come back, then I'd do it.

Any thoughts or personal experience? Thanks!

netg
Apr. 29, 2010, 02:23 AM
For me, even a weekly lesson was not enough for fitness and was worse for my mental health than not riding at all. Each week I would about be in tears over my need to ride more frequently and be working toward something with one horse, so I ended up not riding for years.