PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question: Scoring XC fences removed from a course



Ibex
Apr. 27, 2010, 03:52 PM
I'm probably just blind and can't find it in the rules.

If a fence is pulled from a course partway through the competition for safety reasons, do the riders who had issues at that fence (i.e. a refusal) but completed the course, have the penalties taken off?

cinnabar
Apr. 27, 2010, 06:57 PM
I can speak for an incident at Poplar this past spring. The burial mound at the end of the CIC*** caused several horse/rider falls among the first 5 or 6 riders before it was taken off the course. "Rider Fall" was changed to "Retired" since a) one cannot fall at a fence that no longer exists, and b) "Retired" will not affect the rider's qualification status.

boppin along
Apr. 27, 2010, 07:05 PM
I can speak for an incident at Poplar this past spring. The burial mound at the end of the CIC*** caused several horse/rider falls among the first 5 or 6 riders before it was taken off the course. "Rider Fall" was changed to "Retired" since a) one cannot fall at a fence that no longer exists, and b) "Retired" will not affect the rider's qualification status.

So on that note, why were all of the riders that fell at Rolex, not given a RF on the record rather than an E or does that rule only apply to amatures so as not to affect the Pros records?
Also, is there still a rule about 2 falls and you have to take a break for awhile??

cinnabar
Apr. 27, 2010, 07:24 PM
The rule applies to everyone. As for why the E vs. RF, I can't know. Perhaps simplicity for public consumption.

AM
Apr. 27, 2010, 10:22 PM
Rolex is run under FEI rules not USEF rules. Under FEI rules (Article 532):
Fall of athlete and/or horse on Cross Country Course elimination

Janet
Apr. 27, 2010, 10:23 PM
The rule applies to everyone. As for why the E vs. RF, I can't know. Perhaps simplicity for public consumption.
"RF" is only used at USEF Horse Trials, etc.

FEI does not have a separate notation for "Rider Fall", it is just "E".

Fall of athlete and/or horse on Cross Country Course - elimination

Janet
Apr. 27, 2010, 10:25 PM
Also, is there still a rule about 2 falls and you have to take a break for awhile?? You don't have to "take a break", but, depending on the details and the timing, you may have to "re-establish the horse's qualification" by completing at a lower level.

SevenDogs
Apr. 27, 2010, 10:25 PM
Does that mean that rider falls at FEI events do not count towards the new "loss of qualifications" rule?

Janet
Apr. 27, 2010, 11:00 PM
Does that mean that rider falls at FEI events do not count towards the new "loss of qualifications" rule?
My understanding is that the fall itself (horse or rider) counts toward the loss of establishment, regardless of how it is reported in the final results.

Furthermore, Elimination for disobediences ALSO counts toward loss of establishment, so, in many cases, you don't really need to know whether the FEI "E" was for refusals, horse fall, or rider fall.

SevenDogs
Apr. 27, 2010, 11:15 PM
Thanks, Janet! :)