PDA

View Full Version : Is this bit really worth the money? UPDATE

KellyS
Apr. 27, 2010, 03:00 PM
I've got a 2-year-old that I've just started long lining. Up until now he's been wearing a loose-ring bit that is similar to the Herm Sprenger duo bit, The HS has a thinner mouthpiece than the current bit, but Rally has a small mouth so I'd actually prefer something with a narrower diameter. He is much happier in a duo-type mouthpiece versus a single- or double-jointed bit.

He needs a 4.5 or 4.75" bit...and it's hard to find a variety of bits in this size. His current bit is 4.5"; the HS comes in a 4.75" mouthpiece, which would work nicely and leave some room as he grows.

Thing is, now that we are installing steering he really needs to be in a d-ring or full cheek. The loose ring just isn't cutting it. So, is it worth spending $130 on the HS duo d-ring bit? I can't find anything else similar but it's killing me to think of spending so much money on a bit that I've never tried before.

Current bit:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1154012&l=b1fcc7277d&id=1059684218 (not a terribly good pic of it)

HS duo d-ring:
http://www.doversaddlery.com/product.asp_Q_pn_E_X1-011921

Little cutie pie first time long lining with Mr. KellyS:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1154018&l=98e0b617f6&id=1059684218

This isn't necessarily an eventing topic but I wasn't quite sure where else to post. I do hope he turns out to be my future eventer. :)

Jleegriffith
Apr. 27, 2010, 03:23 PM