PDA

View Full Version : Would/have you clinic with this instructor? (Angelea Walkup)

AzuWish
Apr. 24, 2010, 02:12 PM
I found this woman in my area. I'm a big fan of trying out different instructors/clinicians/etc. and think it helps you round out your education by learning from as many different people.

I am mostly drawn to dressage clinicians right now because I'm learning that aspect first (I'm a total noob when it comes to eventing! And a complete noob when it comes to dressage). For example, I'll be doing a clinic with Deiter Reidinger in May.

Here is the info on the woman I was looking into: Angelea Walkup of Silverdale Sporthorses. http://www.silverdalesporthorses.com/

* System: The systematic training style utilized at Silverdale Sporthorses focuses on finesse over force and resistance instead of restriction. We focus on effective use of basic aids to develop the riders’ awareness and feel while simultaneously advancing competition skills and personal strategies.

* Trainer: Angelea Kelly Walkup, has successfully competed in Dressage through Grand Prix earning both her USDF Silver and Gold Medals and has trained extensively in California by the legendary Hilda Gurney and in The Netherlands by 3-time individual Olympic Gold Medalist, Anky van Grunsven. Angelea has also had the opportunity to work with Anne Gribbons, Janet Brown-Foy, Sabine Schut-Kery, Bettina Drummond, Gwen Blake and the late Hans von Blixen-Finecke.

* Media: Angelea is host of the USEF award winning series, HorseGirlTV® and a contributing writer for Dressage Today.
o “The Life of a Working Student”, Dressage Today, January 2010.
o “Grand Prix for the Rest of Us”, Dressage Today, April 2008.
o “Showing on the Coast of Spain”, Dressage Today, August 2005.
o “International Freestyle Forum”, Dressage Today, July 2005.
o “Importing Horses”, Flying Changes, December 2004.