PDA

View Full Version : Where are the Mount Holyoke CT entries this year?

Joyrider
Apr. 21, 2010, 04:28 PM
Hi All!

I am managing our annual Combined Test at Mount Hoyloke which has been hugely popular here in Area I ...a lot of folks use us to dust the cobwebs off and it is a nice event to get ready for King Oak in two weeks. King Oak is 20 mins away from us. I had 85 entries in 2008 and 68 in 2009. This year...sadly 30. Yesterday was closing date but we will certainly add if we can. So...what is going on? Economy? Going other places this particular weekend? (school vacation week)?. We sent out a baziliion prize lists and have the event listed on the Area I site as well as in all the calendar listings of the usual publications. It has been so popular for so many years - sad that it is so light this year!

Caroline Weber
Apr. 21, 2010, 05:29 PM
At least for the college-aged eventers, my guess would be end of the semester crunch time. I'm a current Mount Holyoke student and I doubt I'd be able to afford the time to go to a show when I need to be writing papers and labs.

xitmom
Apr. 21, 2010, 07:12 PM
I am going to the Stoneleigh Burnham dressage schooling show the day before (which also is VERY light in entries) or I would have hauled further to get to MtH the next day. Good luck with the event... I hope that you round up some more entries.

Flipper
Apr. 21, 2010, 08:54 PM
Sadly, for the same reason I'm not entered for King Oak - horse still recovering from lameness :cry:
I do miss riding in the MHC CT - it's always been a GREAT start to the season - and of course the facilities are top notch. You guys really do a good job putting it on - I really hope you get more entries. I'll start nagging my local horse buddies....

eventamy
Apr. 21, 2010, 10:17 PM