PDA

View Full Version : need a new saddle - please help

arabiansrock
Mar. 25, 2010, 01:07 PM
Hi I'm a newbie here but am desperately searching for a new saddle for my new arabian mare. Am getting conflicting advice from saddle fitters. To make matters worse, three people will be riding in the saddle, myself (5 ft 1 in, 180 lbs), my daughter (5 ft 2 in, 125 lbs) and my son (5 ft 9 in and 150 lbs, and all leg!). One saddlefitter tells me I need an upswept panel for her short back (photos below if it works!) another tells me the 18 th vertebrae rule doesn't need to be followed. Yet another tells me that I need a saddle with a more forward balance point because of my short leg (ok I can see that point) and a "quick to rise from hip to pubic bone" whatever that means. Have tried Black Country (horse loved, trainer said my seat sucked in them), passier (nice but panels WAY too long and flaps too long), toulouse (one pinched her badly and one had lumps under the seat), HDR Paris (hated it, lasted two laps around arena and got off). Courbette Bernina (trainer loves it, I just don't like it, tips me forward and hurts in front). Currently have on way to me an HDR Pro lexus and Rembrandt Laurea (not adjustable). Saddlefitter said both have the quick to rise fit in front (whatever that means) and a more forward balance point.

My budget keeps shrinking (it started out big enough for the Black Country but...) it seems like there is an emergency every week, truck breaks, kid needs new tires on his car, etc. Need my saddle before the money is gone!!!

Am going to try to attach photos of my mare. The pink tape shows wehre I took wither tracings and the back tape is about her 18th vertebrea to show how short her bearing area is.

PLEASE any ideas are welcome, I never knew it could be this hard. Rode in a wintec for 7 years, put it on everybody and didn't worry about it, but am sick of it and want a good fitting saddle for my darling mare.

thanks