PDA

View Full Version : Changing Posting Diagonals

byrtness
Mar. 20, 2010, 08:15 PM
I've been riding for 50 years (serious dressage rider for 20+) and only recently ever came across someone teaching students to stand for a beat to change posting diagonals, instead of sitting an extra beat to change. I have done this with young horses, to stay lighter on their backs on occasion, but have never until now heard a professional teach all of their students this way, regardless of horse or rider ability. Any thoughts on this?

BaroquePony
Mar. 20, 2010, 08:21 PM
Actually it two beats either way. I'd rather sit on a more experienced horse, better control.

SillyHorse
Mar. 20, 2010, 08:51 PM
I've never heard of it taught as the norm, and I've been around just about as long as you have.

Velvet
Mar. 20, 2010, 09:20 PM
I've been around forever, too. I always teach to sit two beats.

caddym
Mar. 21, 2010, 07:14 AM
Pam Goodrich teaches this as an exercise for rider balance and coordination

SillyHorse
Mar. 21, 2010, 08:54 AM
It's a great exercise for just that. But to teach it as a method to use matter of course for changing diagonals, never heard of it.

Koni
Mar. 21, 2010, 04:32 PM
It has been around forever. I teach both sitting and standing to change.

For a student that can't control the trot tempo by posting and just follows the horse, standing helps to teach them how to control the posting tempo.

I too have been around for 50 plus and can tell you this is nothing new. Instructors that teach riders and horses to go from the seat use this method.

goeslikestink
Mar. 21, 2010, 04:47 PM