PDA

View Full Version : Schooling Boots: Hispar vs Treadstone

PennyChrome
Mar. 9, 2010, 12:19 AM
Hello all,
I am in the market for a pair of decent looking, comfortable, and hopefully tough-as-nails schooling dress boot. I already have a nice pair for clinicing and showing, but I need an everyday pair to wear . . . everyday. 'Working Student' means sorry no cash for you' so I am thinking around $200 or less. Two brands I have seen that look nice enough are Hispar and Treadstone, which is better? Comfortable footbed is definitely a plus since I'll wear them all day. Definitely need a zipper.

Is one better than the other? Any other moderately priced suggestions??? What about Ovation? Thanks all!!

billiebob
Mar. 9, 2010, 12:24 AM
I have no experience with Hispar boots but I LOVE my Treadstone field boots! Comfortable from the get-go, no real issues breaking them in, nice leather for the price.....and this is coming from someone who HATES HATES HATES tall boots. Except my Treadstones. :D

Coreene
Mar. 9, 2010, 12:50 AM
Have a pair of Hispars. Buy the others. Or see if you can buy some Effinghams on eBay.

PennyChrome
Mar. 9, 2010, 12:55 AM
Ha ha I do frequent Ebay and have gotten really nice older boots that way. I love the classic look of vintage boots, but unfortunately the zipper/comfy footbed equation is not so common with Dehner/Effingham/Marlborough/ oldies.

Dublin is another brand that makes cheap dress boots. Anyone here?

SisterToSoreFoot
Mar. 9, 2010, 01:02 AM
I have a pair of Treadstones dress boots and they are excellent for the price. They have a nice cut (high on the outside to elongate the leg), look sharp, and are just soft enough to be comfy but not floppy. I've been very pleased with mine.

Simbalism
Mar. 9, 2010, 01:55 AM
In a thread on the Off Course forum there is extensive negative comments on the Hispars.

jn4jenny
Mar. 9, 2010, 07:47 AM