PDA

View Full Version : Helmet Makes and Models

DownYonder
Mar. 7, 2010, 09:37 AM
OK, now that everyone is talking about the need to wear a helmet, can we discuss different styles, certifications, pricing, etc.?

I have been using a Tipperary Sportage for quite a few years, but I have dropped it a few times and am starting to think I should probably replace it. I don't show, so don't need a "fancy" helmet, but I do want something well made and with a good reputation.

A lot of folks seem to like the Charles Owen helmets, but from the photos, they don't appear to have air vents. If this is correct, the COs are probably not a good choice for riders in the hot, humid south.

Does anyone have the IRH Elite Extreme? Dover lists it for $169.90.

What about the GPA SpeedAir? It is incredibly expensive (Dover has it listed for $549.90), but that is cheaper than one day in an ICU.

Is it a fair assumption that the higher priced models are "safer" due to better construction? Also, I am gathering that ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI is the highest level of safety certification for riding helmets. Is this correct?

caddym
Mar. 7, 2010, 09:43 AM
The speed air is discontinued and is being replaced by the evolution. The evolution will be available in a month or so (I just ordered one). They are EXPENSIVE, but they look like the most ventilation and the liner is removable washable and replaceable and at least after spending that much I'll be wearig it

joiedevie99
Mar. 7, 2010, 11:14 AM
You are correct re: the certification. Expensive helmets are not safer. They are all tested to the same standard. A few private groups have made attempts to compare them, and results have not been correlated to price. I believe they are all too old to have tested the most current models, but I remember the $30 plastic Troxel doing very well in one.

The most important thing is that your helmet fits well, without any extra padding shoved in, and its comfortable enough that you put it on every time.