PDA

View Full Version : I caught a skunk...now what?

caryledee
Mar. 2, 2010, 01:32 PM
We've been having a critter problem in the barn lately, so we set a humane trap and caught a skunk! The trap is under an old horse blanket and the skunk has not sprayed so far. But now no one wants to release it for fear of getting sprayed.

Anyone have experience releasing skunks from humane traps?

sar2008
Mar. 2, 2010, 01:49 PM
Personally, I have no experience....but I did find this on a website that may be helpful to you!!!

Cage traps come in two different versions, gravity doors and spring-loaded doors, and they require different techniques to open.

Gravity Door Traps. Gravity closing doors, like the name suggests, rely on the pull of gravity to close the trap door when the trap is sprung. Once the door has reached its final destination, a locking mechanism engages to prevent the animal from pushing his way out of the trap. These traps are rather popular as they are generally less expensive than their spring-loaded door counterparts. To release a skunk from this type of trap, simply take a long extended painters pole (18 feet), fully extend it and then from that distance, gently push the trap onto its roof. Once the trap is flipped over, the gravity door should open allowing the

Don’t be surprised if the skunk doesn’t leave right away. The presence of people, dogs, and general fear may cause the skunk to remain in the trap. Keep people and pets away from the area and the skunk should leave on its own when things quiet down. If the weather is warm and you are in a hurry, you can use a garden hose to make it rain on the skunk to help encourage it to move on. The key isn’t to hurt the skunk with the force of water. You just want to make it get wet so it runs out to dry cover. A word of warning here, make sure the doors to area structures are closed or you may find that the skunk runs to hide in your garage.