PDA

View Full Version : I would like your opinions! ;)

Catomine
Feb. 25, 2010, 04:14 AM
Yet another horse 'critique' thread. But I like these threads when people post them, so why not? I am going to see this horse tomorrow. He's in my price range at 12k. I want something to do up to 3'-3'3'' with. Right now with my leased horse I am doing 2'6'' as he's not the easiest ride and I'm a wimp ;) I want something quiet, I like the way he moves, he's big, has a personality- and my loftiest goals are just local A shows, maybe Tampa or Venice. He seems slender, but otherwise perfect for what I want. But- I'm no expert especially not in the bigger shows (ie: anything above a schooling show, ahah), do you think he will be able to hold his own against the 'nicer' warmbloods? I know he definitely needs some work, and I don't think the rider helped much in presenting him perfectly. I noticed he swapped leads one stride in front of the fence, and he is kind of sloppy over the smaller fences, loose-kneed. Maybe he needs some gymnastics or has been jumping 2' for too long.

Anyways, watch the video, let me know what you think of him, oh- he also has a hideous brand that I hope is clipped during the picture taking and video session here. I really don't like it!

Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hp3QERoZ3ac

Thanks so much!

ETA: Here is another link to him jumping 3'. Read the caption, it mentions something about his weight. I think he jumped pretty nicely for something that was out of shape.. http://www.youtube.com/user/sandcaypaulette#p/a/u/0/wIjR5txrd4M

Cloverbarley
Feb. 25, 2010, 09:24 AM
If you are looking for something quiet then he certainly looks very quiet and slow. I'm used to whizzing about, speedy horses so he actually looks painfully slow to me.

Those jumps look more like 2'6" (max) than 3'3" so they don't really show what he would be capable of.