PDA

View Full Version : Hunter/Jumper barns in Kitsap county, WA

Tilly
Feb. 20, 2010, 06:53 PM
I've served my time here in SoCal :lol: and am going to be moving back up to my home state early this summer. I've been going sans trainer for the past six months but am looking to find one after the move.

I'm 16, have been riding since I was 5, with a background equally spent in dressage, hunters, and equitation. I considered myself an intermediate rider, I can work a horse properly on the bit and can deal with most naughtiness, but I'm by no means an expert and I still have a lot to learn. My position definitely needs some work :o.
I'm very solid on the flat but shaky over fences higher than 2'6" [after a few very bad trainers, I lost my confidence :no:]. In the past I have jumped up to 3'3". I have an Oldenburg gelding who was a First Level dressage horse but is bred for jumpers and has the right mindset to do equitation, which is something I really enjoyed when I was still showing. I'm going to try to turn him into my equitation horse, I'll start him back up over fences this spring [they did 3' with him at a sale barn, so he just needs a refresher course, which I'm capable of handling, thank God, as I don't like the local trainers down here. Not sure yet if I want to get back into the show ring, it depends on how things go, I guess :cool:

I'd like someone who is good with people who are nervous about the bigger fences but isn't a total hand-holder, I do best with a trainer who is firm and will push me a little, but someone who has no patience for a girl who won't just hop over that 3'6" oxer won't work :lol:. I also want someone who's at least registered with the USEF so that they at least know the rules etc if I want to show, no multi-purpose, western/saddleseat/driving/hunter trainers either.