PDA

View Full Version : How much do you pay your groom?

TBEquine
Feb. 16, 2010, 04:19 PM
Hoping that someone may be able to help me here since the internet has been useless on this question!

I am a former working student and groom of a four star rider. However, I left that "world" over a decade ago for a regular, boring office job. :) I miss the eventing world and have been in discussions with an up-and-coming rider in our area about grooming for her at some of our area events. However, I come from a different era of eventing and I have no idea what to charge!

She'll likely have 3 horses and I'll likely be handling the usual - bathing, braiding, studs, stalls, tack, etc. - for the two and three day horse trials. Might also be braiding for some other people there on the side.

What is the going rate for a groom these days? Do I charge per horse or per day? Do I ask for accomodations? What do you guys charge/pay for braiding?

Thanks for any advice!!!

jumpymeister
Feb. 17, 2010, 12:13 AM
My last summer grooming job was in 2002 - for a hunter barn...we got paid $60/day at home, $80/day at shows, plus housing (the people that did not have housing got an extra $20/day). That included everything from stalls, feeding, longing, bathing, tacking, helping the owner mount up, and being at the ring to wipe their boots and give the horse the final polish before walking into the ring. It Did Not include braiding - the going rate (2009) for braiding at hunter shows is $45/mane, $35/tail....

I know it was 8 years ago, but it may give you an idea....2 years before that job, a different barn with the same job description was $50/day at home, $60/day at shows.

At both jobs each horse owner usually gave us a $20-40 tip for the entire show - roughly 10-15 horses over 3-5 days, split between 2-4 grooms...plus someone usually bought us lunch :-)