PDA

View Full Version : What is your Job?

ctab
Feb. 16, 2010, 11:19 AM
I am stuck at home again due to the weather and feeling very poor ATM. Another day off from work. Add the 2 I missed last week due to weather and I am feeling strapped!
What is your job that lets you pay for your horse hobby?

Jazzy Lady
Feb. 16, 2010, 12:20 PM
I'm a residential designer, meaning that I design high end custom homes. Right now we are doing a neighbourhood on a golf course up here that is spectacular.

It doesn't pay for my sport... It pays for me to keep a horse. That's about it. I supplement it with freelance work doing permit drawings for people.

Bacchus
Feb. 16, 2010, 12:39 PM
Communications Coordinator. Mainly ad design, website updates, brochures, etc. Some writing and editing (used to be an editor for a magazine and a staff writer for this company).

I'm low-level, so no big eventing bills, but I'd get by. I'm very frugal, though.

I could not afford the farm I have now, or four horses, without my husband's income!

Hey Mickey
Feb. 16, 2010, 12:42 PM
I made a thread like this a couple years ago when I first joined COTH when I was trying to decide what to major in so I could get a job to pay for the horse.
It was really interesting. although I'm still floundering around at school.

I'm 21, college student.
I have 4 jobs.
cleaning stalls and whatever else to work off 1/2 my board.
a retail job
2 restaurant jobs, one making pizza's and one working in a kitchen at a bar and grill... and if they don't let me start bar tending soon then I'm going to quit and go find a bar tending job someplace else.

scubed
Feb. 16, 2010, 12:42 PM
Research faculty at major university. My job pays for all of my horse related expenses, but I am fairly frugal in other ways, especially having a mortgage less than my average monthly horse-related costs and a 10 year old small car

inquisitive
Feb. 16, 2010, 12:49 PM