PDA

View Full Version : Help: Having a Crisis!

eventr4life
Feb. 15, 2010, 08:00 PM
Im not sure if this is really okay to put up here or if people even care but why not...
On November 24, 2009 i had ACL surgery on my knee i started riding again on January 17(?)- the doctor said i could do some light riding. After that i started riding again like normal - my knee was totally fine didnt hurt at all and when i get off i just land on my good leg.
I have already signed up for shows this spring(novice) - i have gone XC schooling etc. and this weekend im planning to go to a CT.
My mom is know reconsidering all of this in fear i could tear my ACL again - all the PTs and Doctors are very impressed with how fast i recovered and im ahead in PT(physical therapy).
Anyways my question: Right now can i tear my ACL again if i do fall (- which i wont - my horse is very very safe and reliable)?
What do you guys think about this?
The prognosis for full healing where there are no restrictions is at 6 months - i am at 4 months on Feb. 24.

Liz006
Feb. 15, 2010, 08:41 PM
If your doctor says you can ride then you can. Skiiers commonly tear acls and have them repaired. You can tear them again though. I'd think riding is a pretty low risk sport as there's little lateral twisting-- ask your doctor.

deltawave
Feb. 15, 2010, 08:42 PM
Of course you can tear your ACL again if you fall, same as if you could tear the other one or do any other sort of damage to yourself.

But this is no reason to not ride.

When I tore my ACL (yes, in a fall off a horse) my orthopedist gave me the OK to ride, but forbade me to fall off. :) I have fallen off a couple of times since then, and done no harm to the knee. Heck, I tripped on an uneven curb in Cozumel the other day and took a very embarrassing pratfall, and the knee was OK. And I don't even have a "sound" ACL--I'm living on 30% of the one I tore and had cleaned up but not reconstructed.