PDA

View Full Version : ??? when do we start looking for our new farm???

suz
Feb. 5, 2010, 10:48 AM
the decision has been made--after years of discussion and what-ifs.
my daughter and i have decided that we will put our respective homes on the market in the next couple of years and move somewhere together. we each need our own homes, either as neighbors or in a family compound type situation. we know roughly where we'll be moving to, but we don't know when to start looking. the communities will be new to both of us, i think we should start driving around and checking them out sooner rather than later.
but when do we contact a realtor? when do we start looking at properties? we're both very excited about it all, and have had several false starts. but now both husbands are fully on board and looking forward to the plan, and it's no longer an just an interesting idea.
so now what?!

JanWeber
Feb. 5, 2010, 11:08 AM
okay - I'm a realtor who sells both farm properties and residential. This is how it works where I am:

Are you staying in the area where you currently live? If not, start searching for a location that will work for all of you. Interview realtors to gain an understanding of the market in your area and specifically, the price range for your home(s). This gives you a game plan both dollar-wise and timing-wise. Pick a realtor who will, most of all, tell you the truth - not just tell you what you want to hear...

Determine the specifics of what you want in a farm. If your realtor isn't farm-savvy, ask for a referral to someone who knows what they're looking at and local regulations and issues. Yes, you need to do your "due diligence" as well, but you need someone who knows the area and can tell you what to ask -