PDA

View Full Version : What should I expect if I take over managing my barn?

ekgku
Feb. 4, 2010, 01:54 PM
Greetings! This is my first time posting here, but I'm familiar with all the great advice and viewpoints available. I've known this was coming, but just recently the person who manages the facility I'm at approached me about taking over that responsibility. This is a primarily pasture board place, with access to a small barn where the horse owner is supposed to do all their own care. I've been around full care facilities before and am quite familiar with feeding, turnout, blanketing, mucking, etc. But what else do I get to do with managing the entire property? I know there's mowing, arranging hay delivery, vet/farrier visits. But I'm asking for the nitty gritty, the unpleasant parts I may not have thought of. And, what kind of compensation would be reasonable? The current manager suggested I ask for nothing less than $600/month compensation (free board/pay). It's a very inexpensive facility, with very few ammenities other than good boarders who look out for each other, and plenty of love from everyone. Anything pointers, big or small, are much appreciated!

AnotherRound
Feb. 4, 2010, 02:15 PM
That would be entirely up to the owner and depend also on the board contracts. Here are some things which you need to ask the owner about:

1) Be available on premisis for delivery of a new horse, pick up of a horse, etc.

2)Building maintenance - who paints, repairs damaged doors, what have you

3) what equipment belongs to the barn, what belongs to horse owners

4) repair and replacement of said equipment, where does the money come from (say a hose)

5)Be available on premisis for vet, or farrier?

6)Who orders supplys like hay, grain, etc.

7)Be responsible for new boarder contracts

8) taxes and health insurance (check with the laws in your state, call dept of labor and describe job and salary and ask what you should expect from the employer)