PDA

View Full Version : Barn owners, Do you charge your trainers/why?

smokescreen
Feb. 2, 2010, 05:18 PM
Boarding barn owners, do you charge your traveling trainers? I am an amateur and private barn owner now, but I was a traveling trainer at one time. I never understood why some barn owners charged me a fee (that I passed on to my student) to teach at there barn. Now that I don't train anything but my own horses and I have my own place I still don't think the practice is OK. I could understand a grounds fee for a trailer in lesson, but a boarder is paying for use of the arena anyway. I always taught my students arena etiquette, making them a better boarder. I taught with other boarders in the arenas and always was courteous. The same owners didn't charge the farrier, or vet. Why charge the trainer?

cherham
Feb. 2, 2010, 05:28 PM
I do not and would never charge any of my boarders for taking a lesson with an outside trainer. If I made my living off training and teaching at my own facility I might have a different attitude but even then if I was coaching a dressage student and another boarder rode hunters then why would I possibly care if she brought in her own hunter coach.

Lesson times are posted on my barn bulletin board and it is clearly understood by all that the arena is NEVER closed to anyone.....so far everyone seems to be able to work around the posted schedules and I have never heard a complaint.

In fact having the ability to bring in whatever coach they choose is often one of the reason my boarders choose to move in with us in the first place. It does seem that a lot of farms will not allow outside coaches at all....extra fees incurred or not :(

Its almost the same as when I hear of barn owners charging their boarders to park their horse trailers at the farm...don't quite understand that one either.

Rocky
Feb. 2, 2010, 09:02 PM